The annual Pembrokeshire County Tennis Tournament, sponsored by West Haven Construction and PMS Car Sales, was again a huge success. 

Men's Singles

Semi-finals : Luke Dixon (Holder and No1 seed) bt Emlyn Williams (No3 seed) 6-1, 6-2. Owen Habens (No2) bt Matthew Brady (No4 seed) 6-2, 7-5.

Final: Luke Dixon bt Owen Habens 7-5, 6-1.

The final produced some excellent tennis as newcomer Owen Habens provided tough opposition in the first set to six-times champion Luke Dixon. But with the first set tied at 5-5  However, Luke took the next two games to clinch it 7-5. In the second set Luke played some brilliant tennis and won it 6-1 in just 20 minutes, securing his seventh consecutive title 

Ladies' Singles

Semi-finals: Sharon Irish (Holder and No1) bt Sarah Keogh (No2) 6-4, 6-0. Catrin Brady (No2) bt Sandra Rowlands (No4) 6-4, 6-4.

Final: Catrin Brady bt Sharon Irish 7-6, 6-2.

The final was a tight encounter between the holder Sharon Irish and  talented 14-year-old Catrin Brady.  The first set lasted more than an hour, before Catrin won a very close tie-break 7-5 and the set 7-6. In the second set the battle continued but after leading 3-2, Catrin won the next three games to win her second title in three years. 

Men's Doubles

Semi-finals : Matthew Brady and Brian Hearne (No4) bt Luke Dixon and Marc Thompson (No1) 0-6, 6-2, 1-0 (10-7). Jamie Smith and Emlyn Williams (No3) bt Chris Davies and Owen Habens (No2) 7-6,4-6, 1-0 (10-5).

Final: Jamie Smith and Emlyn Williams bt Matthew Brady and Brian Hearne 6-3, 6-4.

This event saw the lower seeded couple veteran Brian Hearne and 17-year-old Matthew Brady enjoy  a shock semi-final win over top seeds  Luke Dixon and Marc Thompson. Emlyn Williams and Jamie Smith meanwhile,  had an excellent win second seeds Owen Habens and Chris Davies. In the final, with Emlyn playing exceptionally well, and supported by Jamie, they secured their first title 6-3, 6-4. Brian Hearne was the oldest player to play in the finals in the 63-year history of the Pembrokeshire Tournament. 

Ladies' Doubles

Semi-finals: Sharon Irish and Sandra Rowlands (No1) bt Liz Moss and Ruth Moss 6-0, 7-5. Jane Allen & Sarah Keogh (No2) bt Alison Dixon and Julie Thorpe 6-3,6-0.

Final: Jane Allen and Sarah Keogh (No2) bt Sharon Irish and Sandra Rowlands (No1) 6-3, 6-1.

This final brought together the two top-seeded pairs.  But from the first game the consistency of Jane Allen and Sarah Keogh was evident. The second seeds  secured  the win 6-4, 6-1. This was Jane and Sarah's first ladies' doubles title. 

Mixed Doubles

Semi-finals: Luke Dixon and Sarah Keogh (No1) beat Karl Smith and Rebecca Morgan 6-0, 6-2. Emlyn Williams ad Sandra Rowlands (No2) bt Matthew Brady and Catrin Brady (No3) 7-6, 6-3.

Final: Luke Dixon & Sarah Keogh (No1) bt Emlyn Williams and Sandra Rowlands (No2) 7-6, 6-1.

This close encounter saw Luke and Sarah win the opening set on a tie-break (7-2). The second set was more one-sided with Luke and Sarah dominating it 6-1 and securing their fifth consecutive mixed doubles title.  Luke Dixon has now won a total of 18 county titles and at 21 years of age, may go on to beat Danny Spurr's record of 25 titles. 

Men's Plate (For 1st round losers)

Final: Christopher Mayhew beat Dean Richards 6-0, 6-1.

Ladies' Plate (For 1st round losers)

Final: Rebecca Morgan beat Sarah Newman 6-4, 6-2.  The trophy for the best junior performance was awarded to Christopher Mayhew.

A spokesman for the tournament committee expressed sincere thanks to sponsors PMS Car Sales and Westhaven Construction, and W and M George Developments. The referee and main organiser for the event was Sue Jones.