Seven hundred people turned up to this year’s Sport Pembrokeshire Awards.

Now in its third year, the popular awards event attracted more nominations than ever before across a wider range of sports this year.

Held last Friday evening at Folly Farm, the award ceremony celebrated the efforts of sportsmen and women across the county - as well as the volunteers and sponsors that keep grass roots sport growing.

Compéres for the evening were Bill Carne and John Deason.

Awards were presented in a wide variety of categories.

Among those recognised were long-time football administrator Des Shanklin of Pembroke, who won a life time achievement award and former Wales hockey captain Kate Hulse, who won a special achievement award.

Des Shanklin was the manager of Pembroke Borough’s Welsh league side for many years before becoming president of the football association of Wales of which he is now life vice-president.

Councillor Rob Lewis, cabinet member for sport and leisure said the event recognised the hard work and effort that went into sport in Pembrokeshire.

“We have a very high standard of award winners, including several world champions,” he said.

“The rise in nominations and the increasing number of sports represented reflect the depth and range of sport in the county. The real winner is sport itself.”

John Deason, manger of Sport Pembrokeshire - the sports development arm of Pembrokeshire county council, which hosted the event - said the success of the awards scheme was also due, in no small part, to the commitment of its main sponsors including Chevron, Western Telegraph, Folly Farm and Radio Pembrokeshire.

“Its success is also down to the hundreds of coaches, parents and volunteers that keep our community sports clubs going week in, week out throughout the year.”

This year’s winners and finalists in each category were as follows: Coach of the Year (sponsored by Chevron) Winner: Peter Freeman.

Finalists: Mark Watson and Steve Brown.

Female sporting achievement (sponsored by Eddie’s Sports Bar) Winner: Becky Harries Finalists: Sarah Thomas and Sophie Rees.

Male sporting achievement (sponsored by Eddie’s Sports Bar) Winner: Paul Murphy Finalists: Daniel Court and Jason Scourfield.

Boys under-16 achievement (sponsored by The Cricket Shop) Winner: Andrew Salter Finalists: Harry Owen and Michael Beckett Girls under-16 sporting achievement (sponsored by The Cricket Shop) Winner: Lauren Bell Finalists: Ellie Meopham and Zoe Priestley Male disability sports award (sponsored by Chevron) Winner: Darren Briggs Finalists: Jamie Jay and Ron Hovell Female disability sports award (sponsored by Radio Pembrokeshire) Winner: Rhianne Cole Finalist: Amy Barret Boys under-16 disability sports award (sponsored by Folly Farm) Winner: Jacob Thomas Finalists: Joshua George, Louis White and Marcus James Girls under-16 disability sports award (sponsored by Pembrokeshire Sports Development Council) Winner: Emma Martin Finalist: Poppy Kirner Unsung hero award (sponsored by Western Telegraph) Winner: Helen Evans Finalists: June Harries and Stuart Beresford Club organiser award (sponsored by Radio Pembrokeshire) Winner: Bill Marchant Finalists: Ian Eynon and Wendy Bradshaw Team achievement (sponsored by Sport Pembrokeshire) Winner: Whitland CC Ormond Youth Cricket team Finalists: Hook CC Ladies Cricket team and Whitland RFC Ladies Rugby team Junior under-16 team achievement (sponsored by the Western Telegraph) Winner: Pembrokeshire County Under 12s Tennis squad Finalists: Clarbeston Road AFC Under 16s Football team and Pembrokeshire members of the Welsh Tumbling squad - Poppy Lewis, Jasmine Raymond, Joanna Weedon Charlotte Rees and Sophie Storrow.

Primary school teacher (sponsored by Sport Pembrokeshire) Winner: Lynn Hart Finalists: Anne Mear and Sharon Osborne Secondary school teacher (sponsored by Folly Farm) Winner: Meredith Richards Finalists: Merion Owen and Sue Beasley Special achievement award (sponsored by the Chairman of Pembrokeshire County Council) Kate Hulse Lifetime achievement award (sponsored by Pembrokeshire Sports Development Council) Des Shanklin